Sustainability Council

Georgia College Sustainability Council

The Georgia College Sustainability Council was created in 2009 to help identify and promote actions and initiatives that will enhance sustainability on campus.  As part of its charge from the university president, the council is required to submit an annual report which assesses campus practices and initiatives and offers recommendations for actions that will move Georgia College toward a more sustainable future.

The GC Sustainability Council is made up of dedicated students, staff and faculty who work together to assess and promote activities related to sustainability.  The council consists of four students, three staff and five faculty.  The council reports to the Vice President for Administration and Campus Operations, who also serves on the council in an advisory role.  The council holds monthly meetings of the full committee, as well as regular meetings of several working groups.  The working groups help the council attend to priority areas of concern and incorporate additional volunteers into council activities.

The members of the council for 2019-20 are:

  • Sam Mutiti, College of Arts & Sciences, Chair
  • Lori Strawder, Office of Sustainability, Budget Manager
  • Donna Bennett, Russell Library, Recorder
  • Sunshine Flamer (Environmental Sci), Sustainability Fee Program Director
  • Jessica Eleazer (Psychology), Sustainability Fee Program Assistant Director
  • Meagan Sullivan (Geography), Sustainability Fee Program Assistant Director
  • Savannah Taylor (Spanish), Sustainability Fee Program Assistant Director
  • Allison VandeVoort, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Hasitha Mahabaduge, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Bruce Snyder, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Mark Causey, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Shea Groebner, Environmental Health & Safety & Fire Safety, Past Chair
  • Chad Wilson, Facilities Management
  • Vacant (staff)
  • Will Hobbs, Past Chair, Ex-Officio
  • Doug Oetter, Publicist, Ex-Officio
  • Cathy Fungone, Finance and Administration, Ex-Officio
  • Susan Allen, Finance and Administration, Ex-Officio
  • Mark Duclos, Facilities Managment, Ex-Officio

Follow the links below to read the council’s bylaws, minutes and reports, as well as the criteria for submission of proposals.

For more information about the council’s activities, please contact the committee at  Join us on social media by following our Web Blog, liking our Facebook Page, following us on Twitter and Instagramor by joining our Facebook Group.

Georgia College Sustainability Council
Campus Box 085 | Milledgeville, GA 31061
Phone | Fax 478-445-1797
For more information:

%d bloggers like this: